top of page

Ashley Elizabeth Craig


Ashley Elizabeth Craig is an artist and educator living in South Carolina. She received a BMA in Media Arts from the University of South Carolina and an MFA in Photography from the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD) in Savannah, Georgia. She has taught at the Savannah College of Art and Design, the University of South Carolina, Miami International University of Art and Design (MIUAD), Barry University and Maine Media Workshops + College.

In late 2012 Ashley, along with two colleagues started a not for profit organization, named Ticka-Arts. Ticka-Arts uncovers hidden talent within the photography community and showcases their work on their website as well as physical exhibitions at rotating locations in the US and the Caribbean.

Ashley is active in the fine art community, exhibiting nationally in Massachusetts, Florida, Oregon, South Carolina, Georgia, Texas, and California. She participates in portfolio reviewing events and both attending and giving artist lectures and guest critiques. Ashley also works curating both graduate and undergraduate exhibitions with Universities and Colleges. She has been an active member in SPE since 2004 working with different committees and caucuses.

 

fondly -- a love letter to the south

Growing up in the south creates a different type of woman. We are taught to be southern gentile ladies, the backbone of our families, strong and independent women, and teachers as well as students of life. We take the time to sit on the porch, play on swings, embrace our inner child and that no matter what you're never too old for a haircut from mom. And most important when life gives you lemons, add some sugar and a little bit of dad's 'shine and white knuckle it.

This is a body of work in progress - my love letter to the South.

 

the process

On February 12th of 2015 I was told that my mom had esophageal cancer. On August 5th of 2015 she passed away.

As I sat in my house, over a thousand miles away from my family, I began the grieving process. Crying daily in private while talking to my sister, father and best friend pretending to be the strong one.

Having always made photographs instinctually I began to make images in the moment with any device I had near me. Each image I see now as a moment that helped me to grieve, to process and to move forward to the next day.

Everyone’s grieving process is different, each day is a struggle. I watch a movie and want to share with her how silly the plot is or the small inconsistencies in a film but I can’t. I want to ask her about a dress or does this match but I can’t. What I can do is smile and be happy with the time we did have. Be happy that she raised 2 strong women who, while a bit battered and bruised, know who we are and where we’ve come from.

I talk to her daily and every other Friday I go and have lunch with her. I lay in the prickly grass, hope the ants don’t get in my hair. I feel the sun beat down on my face and tell her about my week.

bottom of page