top of page

Joanna Knox Yoder


Joanna Knox Yoder is a photographic artist and educator originally from Burtonsville Maryland. Yoder received her B.A. in art education from University of Maryland, College Park and her M.F.A. in photography from Savannah College of Art and Design. Her work has been exhibited nationally in Washington D.C., New York, Philadelphia, Seattle, and Atlanta as well as Internationally in Tokyo, Japan. She explores the connection between history, memory, and place in her photographs. Her work has been featured in The New Yorker Photobooth, South x Southeast Photomagazine, Fotovisura, and the Washington Post. She recently uprooted from her hometown in Maryland and moved to the South where she continues to be inspired by disappearing southern architecture and landscape.

We will be featuring, Heirloom, one of our favorite's of Joanna's portfolios here, but we encourage you to visit her website too see more of her work!

Heirloom

The creation of the series of wet-­‐plate collodion tintypes was a process of healing and discovery for me as an artist. This series emerged as I had been thinking about my family ancestry. I thought about my mother’s dress cocooned in a plastic sheath, my father’s military jacket and wrinkled tie and how they reminded me of life and death simultaneously. I thought about my ancestors and what they passed on to me. I thought about the void I felt without children of my own and about who would remember me when I die. These photographs ask questions about family legacy, memory, and death.

all images ©Joanna Knox Yoder

bottom of page